Venetian Vespers

Venetian Vespers

Monteverdi | Rigatti | Grandi | Cavalli | Finetti | Marini |

Banchieri | G. Gabrieli | Fasolo

Gabrieli Consort & Players

Paul McCreesh (conductor)

Venetian Vespers sees Paul McCreesh and the Gabrielis attempt to recreate a Vespers service as it might have been celebrated in St Mark’s in the mid-17th century. While Monteverdi is the most significant composer in the programme, the bulk of the disc draws on the work of his colleagues from the Venetian basilica to create a plausibly authentic service.

Excerpt: Rigatti: “Nisi Dominus”

BUY: Deutsche Grammophon | Amazon | iTunes

“A real favourite… captures both the historical approach and the time itself.”Fono Forum

“McCreesh shows a real understanding of the placing and choreography of the participants in the musical aspects of the liturgy… The effect overall is a genuine sense of continuity and cohesion between the different works and forces employed rather than a disjointed series of unrelated pieces. And there is some glorious music here, beautifully performed… this is an heroic achievement of the highest possible order.”Gramophone

DG Archiv

DDD 0289 459 4572 9 ATA 2

May 1993